#TwitteratiChallenge

On bank Holiday Monday night I was sat contemplating my weekend spent alone as other half had to work over the holiday and was thinking about how the next few weeks will pan out when I had a lovely post pop up in my in box with the above heading.

I had been reading these posts with awe and wonder never imagining I would be nominated as this year I didn’t feel I had done anything that worthy to be part of the crew.

However here I was thanks to the amazing @Chocotzar with my own nomination, so now it was my turn to nominate my 5, in no particular order.

1. @musicmind, Nina Jackson.

I met Nina back in 2012 at TMClevedon after an extremely stressful ofsted and I was a bright eyed bushy tailed NQT. She has always been there as my editor, supporter, coach, mentor, sounding board, sherbert lemon giver. She has supported me in her unwavering belief in my pedagogical stance in providing the best opportunity for the pupils in my care. She just seems to know when to contact me and always knows how I am feeling and what I need to hear to get through the problem. Often she just listens, but more often then not she has a simple solution to what seems like an insurmountable problem.

2. @hrogerson, Helen Rogerson.

A fantastic Head of Science Teacher who is a Physicist, (don’t hold it against her), she is an active member of the South West ASE and of the ASE as a whole, she has welcomed me into that science community with open arms, encouraged me to develop and stretch my understanding of the changes that will be affecting the GCSE curriculum in science, she has explained the changes with the patience of Job! She as read letters of applications, encouraged me in my search for a new position. Her passion for science is a pleasure to behold and I am lucky to know her.

3. @KevBartle, Keven Bartle.

He was one of the first of my twitter friends I met in the real world over a glass of wine and a meal watching the sun go down one evening in Torquay. He is a true gentleman and I have had the pleasure of visiting him both personally and professionally and his amazing school Cannons where he is now the Head. He has a vision that is pure and focused on the best for the pupils and community his school serves. He is truly generous with his time, wisdom and insight. Happy to share both his successes and tribulations with honesty and clarity.

4. @CristaHazell, Christa Hazell

A great Head of MFL teacher, who I hadn’t realised was also a friend of the amazing @Misswrightatdcc. I love her ideas on Kagan and she is generous with her time and advice and I know that if I have a question she will respond with a strategy that will work. Plus her encouraging words help lift the dark days.

5. @aegilopoides

I had the pleasure of taking part in the first round of twittercoaching that was set up by @ASTsupportAAli and @aegilopoides was my coachee. Since then we have talked and not met sadly but she is always willing to share resources, ideas, and her revision resources have saved the day many a time over the last few months.

So there you have it, the likes of @ChocoTzar, @Betsysalt, @Gwenelope, @rjl1981, have already been nominated, but I’d like to nominate all on the  #ASECHAT as they are amazing educators who share and help the subject of science move forward.

So to the rules:

@teachertoolkit ‘s rules are: 

  1. You cannot knowingly include someone you work with in real life
  2. You cannot list somebody that has already been named if you are already made aware of them being listed on #TwitteratiChallenge
  3. You will need to copy and paste the title of this blogpost and (the rules and what to do) information into your own blog post

What to do?

  • Within 7 days of being nominated by somebody else, you need to identify colleagues that you rely regularly go-to for support and challenge. They have now been challenged and must act and must act as participants of the #TwitteratiChallenge
  • If you’ve been nominated, please write your own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost within 7 days. If you do not have your own blog, try @staffrm
  • The educator that is now (newly) nominated, has 7 days to compose their own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost and identify who their top 5 go-to educators are. However, as I am a rebel, I nominate everyone. You are not the last to be picked in PE again

Leave a comment